About Us Top Banner About Us Top Banner

Our Leadership

Pathways to Education is a national, charitable organization breaking the cycle of poverty through education. Our award-winning program is creating positive social change by supporting youth living in low-income communities to overcome barriers to education, graduate from high school, and build the foundation for a successful future.

As the governing body of Pathways to Education Canada, the National Board of Directors oversees our policy development, sets our strategic direction, and monitors our performance against our goals.

Vincent Mercier, Chair

Partner, Davies LLP

Lori Pearson, Vice-Chair

Sr. Managing Partner & COO, Brookfield Asset Management

Katherine Gibson, Treasurer

SVP Finance & Controller, RBC

David Ain

Partner, Egon Zehnder

The Honourable Gloria J. Epstein

Reviewer, Independent Civilian Review into Missing Person Investigations

Darren Googoo

Director of Education, Membertou First Nation

Wes Hall

Executive Chairman & Founder, Kingsdale Advisors

John James

NCO, RCMP (Retired)

Myriam Legault

Educator, B.Ed, M.Ed, D.E.A.

Brett Marchand

President & CEO, Blue Impact Inc., Vision 7 Communications

Executive Chairman, Cossette

Fabrice Morin

EVP, Canadian Operations, Canada Life

Jad Shimaly

Chair & CEO, EY Canada

Lara Skripitsky

VP, Chief Technology & Operations Support Officer, McDonalds

Pamela Sugiman

Dean, Faculty of Arts, Ryerson University

Nisita Tappata (Pathways Canada Alum)

Management Consulting, Accenture

Sue Gillespie, Ex-Officio

President & CEO, Pathways to Education Canada

The Research Advisory Council is an advisory body of accomplished Canadian researchers from diverse fields who share research and feedback and provide us with critical evidence-based insights.

Aliya Ali

Royal Canadian Air Cadets Program, Pathways to Education Program Alumna

Allison Hearns

Law Student, Schulich School of Law, Dalhousie University, Pathways to Education Program Alumna

Isabelle Archambault, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Université de Montréal

Véronique Dupéré, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Université de Montréal

Konrad Glogowski, Ph.D.

Director, Research and Evaluation, Pathways to Education Canada

Carl James, Ph.D. FRSC

Jean Augustine Chair in Education, Community & Diaspora, York University

Janet Lane

Director, Centre for Human Capital Policy, Canada West Foundation

Sinead McCarthy

Vice President of Growth and Development, Youth Employment Services

Kate Tilleczek, Ph.D. (Council Chair)

Professor and Canada Research Chair (Tier 1)

The Alumni Advisory Committee is a group of Pathways alumni who guide our decision-making and facilitate our alumni engagement.


Pathways Halifax, 2015


Pathways Regent Park, 2010


Pathways Regent Park, 2014


Pathways Hamilton, 2019


Pathways Shawinigan, 2016


Pathways Regent Park, 2008


Pathways Kingston, 2014


Pathways Regent Park, 2009


Pathways Scarborough Village, 2014

Richard, Chair

Pathways Regent Park, 2005


Pathways Scarborough Village, 2013


Pathways Hamilton, 2013

The members of the National Indigenous Advisory Circle are Indigenous leaders, educators, and entrepreneurs from across the country. Their role is to lend their knowledge and expertise that helps to build awareness and understanding of the cultures and histories of Indigenous peoples with the goal of increasing Indigenous graduation rates across Canada.

Dale D. Awasis

ThunderChild First Nation, Saskatchewan

Director of Education, Tallcree Tribal Government, Tallcree Alberta

Elder Mae Louise Campbell

Elder in Residence, University of Manitoba's Faculty of Social Work and Red River College

Dr. Marie Delorme

Métis Nation of Alberta

CEO, The Imagination Group

Darren Googoo


Director of Education, Membertou Mi'kmaq First Nation

Council Chair, CEA/EdCan Network

Helen Robinson-Settee

Dauphin River First Nation

Director, Indigenous Inclusion Directorate, Ministry of Education

We are grateful for and acknowledge the past participation of Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami and Sunburst Consulting, and we are actively seeking further Inuit representation and guidance on our National Indigenous Advisory Circle.